Home

Download this help site
(PDF 80MB)

Download

Adjusting or canceling an invoice

There are two ways to adjust an invoice. You can edit the invoice directly or edit the original transaction then adjust the updated invoice. Directly editing the invoice is advised only for manual invoices but not for automatically generated invoices because this will lead to discrepancies between the original transaction and its invoice.

If you want to reduce the invoice amount because of a special discount, the recommended way is to create a special tender and record a payment using that tender. For more information, see Discounts and complimentary transactions.

Updating an invoice by adjusting the original transaction

You can update an invoice by adjusting the original transaction.

 Read more/less

To adjust the original transaction, follow these steps:

  1. Find and open the invoice.
  2. Click the Origin link to display the transaction.

  3. From here, click the Edit button to enter edit mode.

  4. Now you can change the information that was entered. For example, if it is a member application, you can change the membership level.

  5. Once you are done editing, click on Save to display the Update invoice details screen.
  6. On the Update invoice screen, the line items listed on the invoice will have been updated to reflect the changes you made on the previous screen. You can change the line items manually on this screen but this will lead to discrepancies between transactions and invoices and is therefore not recommended.

    To assign the invoice to a different contact, click the Change link beside the contact's details.

  7. Click on Update invoice to save the changes and update the contact's balance. You can then print or email the updated invoice.

Changing the transaction will create a record in your Audit log showing the contact affected, the date, the invoice number, and the amount of the updated invoice.

Changing the transaction will also effect your income report, updating your numbers to reflect the new invoice amount.

Editing an invoice directly

Instead of updating the original transaction, you can edit an invoice directly.

 Read more/less

For each invoice, you can modify the following information:

  • the person being invoiced
  • the date of the invoice
  • comments for the payer
  • internal notes
  • invoice items

Editing an invoice directly (without updating the transaction) is only recommended for manual invoices. If you edit the invoice that has a corresponding transaction and do not update that transaction as well, the transaction amount might not be equal to the invoice amount.

To edit the invoice directly, follow these steps:

  1. Find and open the invoice.
  2. Click the Edit button.

  3. On the Edit invoice screen, you can change the person assigned the invoice (for unpaid invoices only), or update the items and amounts listed on the invoice. You can also add additional options by clicking on the green plus sign next to the last item and entering the new item name and cost into the box that appears. The cost can be a negative number if you want to include a discount. To remove an item, click on the red X. The total about due will be automatically recalculated and displayed below.

  4. Click on Save to save the changes and update the contact's balance. You can then print or email the updated invoice.

Canceling or deleting an invoice

Sometimes you may wish to cancel or delete an invoice, for example, if you make a mistake or for complimentary event registrations or memberships registrations .

 Read more/less

To remove the erroneous transaction, the recommended approach is to go to the transaction in question and delete or cancel it. This will automatically delete the related invoice.

You can delete the invoice directly from the invoice details page, though this will leave the originating transaction and can lead to discrepancies.

Icon

For event registrations, you should bring up the registration for the contact and click the Cancel registration option.

A record of the deletion will be added to the  Audit log  showing the contact affected, the date, the invoice number, the amount of the invoice, and the name of the administrator who deleted it. Deleted invoices  cannot be restored .

Deleting the invoice will remove the invoice amount from your invoice report. If you delete an automatically generated invoice, it will result in a transaction with no corresponding invoice.

When you delete the invoice for a membership application, an option will appear on that contact's Membership tab to cancel their application.

On this page: 

See also:

 
Wild Apricot Inc. 144 Front Street West Suite 725, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5J 2L7