Home

Download this help site
(PDF 82MB)

Download

Cancelling events and registrations

You can cancel an entire event, or cancel individual event registrations. In either case, you have options for dealing with the registration fees that have already been paid. Registrants can also cancel their own registrations if you have enabled that option for their registration type.

Cancelling events

After setting up an event and accepting registrations and payments, you may choose to cancel the entire event. There are two different ways to handle this within Wild Apricot: delete the event altogether (see below) along with any existing registrations, or keep the event in your event database but disable new registrations and cancel each registration individually.

Deleting events

Deleting an event will automatically delete all registration invoices for the event. (The deleted invoices can be found in the audit log, along with a record of their deletion.) However, refunds will not be automatically issued, and any registration fees already paid will remain as credits on the registrants' accounts. You can issue refunds for the registration fees or simply inform the registrants that the fee has been credited to their accounts and can be applied to future fees.

Icon

A deleted event cannot be restored.

Any registrants added as contacts as part of the registration process will remain in the contact database.

Before deleting an event, you should send an email to all event attendees, since the attendee list will no longer be available once the event is deleted.

To delete an event, follow these steps:

 Read more/less
  1. Hover over the Events menu and select the Event list option.
  2. Click the name of the event to be cancelled within the events list.
  3. Click the down arrow beside the Edit button and click the Delete option. 



  4. You will be prompted to confirm the deletion by checking the I understand and want to delete checkbox then clicking the Delete button. 

Archiving an event

There is no explicit option for archiving an event but you can achieve the same result by changing the event access setting to admin only and disabling registration for the event. The event – including registration information – will be visible only to administrators.

Cancelling individual registrations by administrators

After registering for an event, an individual may wish to cancel their registration. Registrations can be cancelled by an administrator or by registrants themselves (if you have enabled this option for their registration type). Cancelling a registration will cancel the guest registration as well as the main registration.

When you cancel or delete an event registration, the registration invoice is automatically voided. (The voided invoice can be found in the audit log, along with a record of its voiding.) If the registration fee was already paid, it will not be automatically refunded. Instead, the registrant's account will be credited the amount of the fee. You can issue a refund for the registration fee or simply inform the registrant that the amount has been credited to their account and can be applied to future fees.

If you have chosen to impose a cancellation fee, you can issue a manual invoice to the registrant then settle the registration fee payment to the invoice and the refund.

If added as a contact as part of the registration process, the registrant will remain a contact.

To cancel or delete an individual registration for an event, follow these steps:

 Read more/less
  1. Hover over the Events menu and select the Event list option.
  2. Click the name of the event within the events list.
  3. Click the Registrants & invitees link. 



  4. Within the registrants list, click the row showing the registration you want to cancel.
  5. From the registration details screen, click the Cancel registration button to cancel the registration or the Delete button to delete the registration.
  6. If you are cancelling the registration, you can enter a note explaining the reason for the cancellation then click OK.

To restore a registration immediately after cancelling it, click the Restore button. The registration will be restored, but the voided invoice remains voided.

Cancelling individual registrations by registrants

Registrants can cancel their own registrations if you have enabled that option for their registration type.

 Read more/less

To allow registrants to cancel their own registrations, enable the Allow cancellation option at the bottom of the registration type settings.

When you enable the Allow cancellation option, you can specify the minimum number of days before the event that cancellations can take place. For example, if you don't want cancellations in the week leading up to the event, you would specify 7 days. If the number of days is not specified or set to zero, then cancellations will be allowed right up to the beginning of the event.

With the Allow cancellation option enabled, registrants can cancel their registrations from the My registrations tab on their member profile. From the My registrations tab, they click the appropriate row within the registrations list...

...then click the Cancel registration button from the registration details.

The registrant will be prompted to confirm their desire to cancel their event registration.

Cancelling a paid registration will automatically void the registration invoice and will generate a credit in the registrant's account. Depending on your event's email settings, a cancellation message may be sent to the registrant.

On this page: 

See also: